Tuesday, 14 May 2013

Van Joins Eric Clapton in Belfast

Eric Clapton’s second concert on his 2013 European Tour was at Belfast's Odyssey Arena last Friday, May 10.  The set list was identical to the previous evening's in Dublin, with one major change: Van Morrison stepped out for Help Me.
Clapton's opening few numbers were restrained.  Hello Old Friend and My Father's Eyes didn’t challenge Clapton’s famous guitar skills.  The solos began to emerge on blues numbers like Black Cat Bone and Got To Get There In A Little While. Eight songs in local hero Van Morrison emerged to a flood of cheers.  It was an electric moment and a thin-looking Van the Man was a highpoint of the concert. 

May 10, 2013 Set List - Eric Clapton & His Band

01. Hello Old Friend

02. My Fathers Eyes
03. Tell The Truth
04. Gotta Get Over

05. Black Cat Bone

06. Got To Get Better
07. Come Rain Or Come Shine (featuring Paul Carrack)

08. Help Me - with Van Morrison
09. Driftin'

10. Further On Down The Road

11. Layla

12. Stones In My Passway
13. It Ain't Easy (Paul Carrack - vocals)

14. Lay Down Sally
15. Wonderful Tonight

16. Blues Power

17. Love In Vain
18. Crossroads

19. Little Queen Of Spades

20. Cocaine
21. Sunshine Of Your Love

22. High Time We Went


A clip of Van singing onstage with Eric is on the official Van facebook site.  Click here.

No comments:

Post a Comment